THE VALLEYS 5% PETITION

My flatmate and I sat on the sofa last night for a good 2 hours seething with anger at the producers at MTV UK after having witnessed the debasement of a nation for the sake of making a profit.  Yes that’s right, we watched MTV’s newest reality show: The Valleys.

Stereotypes galore, sheep everywhere, this televised portrayal of a country full of girls who want to be glamour models, and guys who want to make it in music (trust me, it’s not like that!) has catapulted a minority into the limelight.  I myself was born and bred in the Valleys, and unlike the female participants in the show, I am working towards getting my law degree rather than a boob job and a bloke with a six pack and no brain.  This show is not a true representation of anyone I know, and where so many have worked so hard to raise the profile of South Wales it is sickening to see a multinational corporation swoop in and destroy all that hard work to make a bit of money.

So if you insist on watching this shameful reality rubbish that has misrepresented a nation, and cast a bad shadow over the Welsh then at least make it worth while.  Sign THE VALLEYS 5% PETITION in support of MTV donating 5% of the profits to a worthwhile cause.  Make this ruthless exploitation worth something!

Please remember, DON’T JUDGE US ALL for the mistakes of MTV and the silly people who allowed themselves to be portrayed in such a disgusting manner.

2 thoughts on “THE VALLEYS 5% PETITION

  1. I lived in South Wales and studied at uni for 3 years, and I perfectly understand and appreciate that The Valleys is not a true representation of the people there – but it is so bad that I can’t help admitting that I find it hilarious! Seriously, are people actually that stupid?!?

Leave a Reply

