Nostalgic for Nantes

If you had told me a year ago that I was on the precipice of finally starting to live my life and discover who I am, I would have laughed and told you to stop being so bloody philosophical/sentimental/full of crap!  I had just moved to France and had left everything I had ever known in my whole life behind me in Wales.  I spent the first month in a state of worry; nervous that I wouldn’t understand when people directly spoke to me in French, and planning every single sentence to ensure that it was grammatically perfect in my head before even contemplating joining in with a conversation.  Although I never pined for Wales and my home comforts, it was one of the most difficult things I’d ever had to do.

The year passed quicker than I could have ever imagined, and before I knew it, my flatmate and I were throwing a good bye soirée in our beautiful flat that had been the hub of social events among my friends for the past year.  I was reluctantly torn from my French reality to restart my life in the UK mid June, and I can honestly say that I found it harder to leave Nantes in June, than to leave Britain in the September of 2011 to start what would become the most amazing adventure of my life.

Now, when I revisit the time I spent abroad, I ache to be back in Nantes.  I miss the little life I created for myself, and I miss the city where I discovered that actually I wasn’t as weak as I had originally thought.  My friend recently found this video and it reminded me of all the things I loved about the city that I called home for the best 9 months of my life, and had to share it with you!

If anyone out there is considering doing a year abroad, I strongly urge you to go for it!  You won’t regret anything about making the decision to go! You will learn so much about yourself and experience new cultures that will shape you into a better person.

If I could, I would go back in an instant.

6 thoughts on “Nostalgic for Nantes

    1. I’m hoping to get to travel more when I graduate :-). I’m so looking forward to the experience of new cultures, but sad to hear it doesn’t get any easier to leave them behind! haha! x

Leave a Reply

